By Bhawna Rawat, Updated : Aug 21, 2020 20:17 IST
Rohit Sharma & other Athletes to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Ishant Sharma to get Arjuna Award

Indian batsman also popularly known as Hitman; Rohit Sharma will be receiving Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. The highest Sports Award in the country for a sportsperson.  

Rohit Sharma along with wrestler Vinesh Phogat, table tennis champion Manika Batra & Paralympian Mariappan Thangavelu will also be receiving  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award by National Sports Awards Committee. 

The decision was made by selection panel for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award & other national sports awards. The recommendations are approved by the Sports Ministry. Now it’s confirmed & the President Ram Nath Kovind will present the awards. Rohit Sharma  will become the fourth cricketer to get the Award. Prior to him Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni & Virat Kohli had received the Khel Ratna.

Ishant Sharma, Dutte Chand & other awardees will be conferred with the Arjuna Award. Fans & supporters all around the social media congratulated the athletes & cricketers. 

This year Rohit Sharma was nominated for the award by BCCI, he earned the nomination after his massive innings in 2019. The right-handed batsman had his best year across formats especially in ODI’s. He finished the year as the highest run-scorer in the 50over format, scoring a sub total of 1490 runs in ODI’s including seven centuries, the most by any player in the year. 

Rohit Sharma is currently in UAE for the upcomin Dream11 IPL 2020 tournament, which will start from 19 September.

Read also: Dream11 IPL 2020: CSK on the move towards UAE, Harbhajan not travelling with the team!