By Bhawna Rawat, Updated : Aug 10, 2020 11:25 IST
Provision to Ranji Trophy & Mushtaq Ali this year, Ranji Trophy likely start from December 13!

The BCCI is contemplating a cut back in domestic season from November 19 to March 10, by organizing only the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy & the Ranji Trophy. Vijay Hazare & The Challengers series have been dropped this year due to Covid-19 Pandemic.  

The Ranji Trophy & Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy are only two domestic series which will be played this year in the country at senior level amid Pandemic. Usually the domestic season begins from September, but after the reschedule of IPL 2020 in UAE from September 19 to November 10, the domestic tournament schedule has been shifted and for some like Vijay Hazare & Deodhar Trophy & Duleep Trophy has been called off. 

Ranji Trophy is likely to start from December 13, with league stage proposed to be a five-group affair. Four groups of 8 teams & a plate group featuring six new sides from north-east.   

The top two teams from each of the 1st three groups will qualify for the knockouts the remaining two knockout qualifiers will be decided through a complex qualification formula.   

The entire schedule for cricket depends on the improving situation Covid-19. This year IPL 2020 will be starting from 19 September to November 10 in UAE. The first match will be played between Mumbai Indians & Chennai Super Kings. 

Read also: Masood & Woakes climb up the ladder of Test ranking after their 1st test match in Old Trafford