Kieron Pollard named West Indies captain for three T20Is against New Zealand

WI vs NZL: Cricket West Indies today announced the T20I as well as the Test squads for the home side. West Indies big man Kieron Pollard will be leading West Indies in the three-match T20I series against New Zealand which will be kicking from November 27, 2020.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Nov 17, 2020 18:12 IST
Kieron Pollard named West Indies captain for three T20Is against New Zealand
WI vs NZL: Kieron Pollard named captain for T20Is

WI vs NZL T20I: Cricket West Indies (CWI) today announced the two squads for the proposed tour of New Zealand which will feature three T20 Internationals and two Test matches which will begin from November 27. Details of the tour were ratified by CWI’s Board of Directors during a teleconference on Thursday.  The big man from Jamaica Kieron Pollard named West Indies captain for the three-match T20I series against the Kiwis.

The CWI Selection Panel indicated this upcoming series will form part of the overall planning towards defending the ICC World T20 title. The Panel monitors closely the progress of mystery spinner Sunil Narine and all other players in the lead-up to the global event.

Andre Fletcher, the experienced wicketkeeper-batsman has been named in the T20I squad for the first time since 2018. There is a maiden call-up in this format for Kyle Mayers, the all-rounder, who performed well in the last month’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL). However, Lendl Simmons,  Andre Russell, and Evin Lewis have been not pick up in the upcoming series against the Black Caps.

In Tests, there is a return for left-handed batsmen Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer, as well as all-rounder Keemo Paul. Bravo’s highest Test score of 218 came at the University Oval in Dunedin in 2013.

Jason Holder in action
Jason Holder in action

Also Read: NZL vs WI: Tim Southee led New Zealand announces T20I and Test Squads against West Indies


West Indies T20I Squad:

  • Kieron Pollard (Captain)*
  • Fabian Allen
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Sheldon Cottrell
  • Andre Fletcher*
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Brandon King
  • Kyle Mayers*
  • Rovman Powell
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Keemo Paul
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Hayden Walsh Junior
  • Kesrick Williams

West Indies Test Squad:

  • Jason Holder (C)
  • Jermaine Blackwood
  • Kraigg Brathwaite
  • Darren Bravo*
  • Shamarh Brooks
  • John Campbell
  • Roston Chase
  • Shane Dowrich
  • Shannon Gabriel
  • Shimron Hetmyer*
  • Rahkeem Cornwall
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Keemo Paul
  • Kemar Roach
  • Chemar Holder