PAK vs SA 1st T20: Babar Azam-led side will be eyeing for the 2021 ICC World Cup

Pakistan vs South Africa 1st T20: Babar Azam-led Pakistan team will square off South Africa ahead of the first T20I match on Thursday at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. South Africa won the toss and opted to field first.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Feb 11, 2021 18:45 IST
PAK vs SA 1st T20: Babar Azam-led side will be eyeing for the 2021 ICC World Cup
South Africa won the toss and opted to field first. (Image source: ICC Twitter)

BBL 10 ADS vs BRH Playing XIs: The opening match between Pakistan and South Africa will be played at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Thursday. The match will commence at 6:00 Pm Local and IST.  The match will commence at 1:45 PM (IST). Here is our PAK vs SA 1st T20 match preview, including Pak vs SA Playing 11, Pak vs SA squads, injury updates as given below.

Babar Azam led Pakistan The hosts will be without Fakhar Zaman and Wahab Riaz, who has been dropped for this series. There's no Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan, and Imad Wasim either. Hasan Ali, who last played a white-ball international in the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, should get a game after his confidential comeback in the Test series.

Their opponent, on the other hand, South Africa side is missing a few players in the form of Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis who has been rested for their commitments. They have a lot of youngsters in their squad and Heinrich Klassen has been given captain’s responsibility.

Also Read: PAK vs SA 1st T20: Fantasy Cricket Tips, Playing XI, Pitch report, and Injury updates

Pakistan vs South Africa Playing XIs:

Pakistan Playing XI

  1. Mohammad Rizwan (WK)
  2. Babar Azam (Captain)
  3. Haider Ali
  4. Hussain Talat*
  5. Iftikhar Ahmed
  6. Khushdil Shah
  7. Mohammad Nawaz
  8. Faheem Ashraf
  9. Usman Qadir*
  10. Shaheen Afridi
  11. Haris Rauf

South Africa Playing XI

  1. Janneman Malan
  2. Reeza Hendricks
  3. Jacques Snyman*
  4. Heinrich Klaase(C/WK)
  5. David Miller
  6. Dwaine Pretorius
  7. Andile Phehlukwayo
  8. Bjorn Fortuin*
  9. Junior Dala
  10. Lutho Sipamla
  11. Tabraiz Shamsi


Pakistan: Haider Ali, Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Usman Qadir, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Zafar Gohar, Amad Butt, Aamer Yamin, Danish Aziz, Zahid Mahmood

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, JJ Smuts, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (C/wk), Pite van Biljon, Dwaine Pretorius, George Linde, Lutho Sipamla, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenton Stuurman, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Okuhle Cele, Ryan Rickelton, Nandre Burger, Jacques Snyman