By Puneet Hooda, Updated : Sep 03, 2020 10:49 IST
Mumbai Indians IPL 2020 squad: Pattinson replaces Malinga to join Elite bowlers

Four-time champions Mumbai Indians suffered a major setback as their key blower Lasith Malinga decided to drop out from Dream11 IPL 2020.  Malinga is the highest wicket take in IPL. Lately his father’s condition was not good and was deteriorating day by day. Earlier it was said Malinga might miss some part of the season, but after scrutinizing the condition Malinga decided to miss the whole tournament.   

To fill the void left by Malinga, Mumbai Indians have signed Australian Seamer James Pattinson as his replacement. Pattinson was part of Kolkata Knight Riders campaign previously but is yet to play an IPL match. The seamer is also not a part of the Australian Squad travelling to England for ODI and One-day series.  

Pattison last played an T20 match was for Brisbane Heat in the 2019-20 Big bash. He took six wickets in nine matches with an average of 20. Losing Malinga is a big setback for Mumbai but if we look at the bigger picture Mumbai have a vast ocean of fast fowlers, arguably the best bowling lineup in the IPL.  

Foreign seamers in the team 

Trent Boult (New Zealand) 
Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand) 
Nathan Coulter-Nille (Australia) 
James Pattinson (Australia) 

Indians Bowlers in the team 

Jasprit Bumrah  
Dhawal Kulkarni 
Mohsin khan 
Hardik Pandya (All-Rounder) 

The team has perfect blend of new comers and experienced bowlers in the team. With experienced bowlers like- Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah, Counter-Nille Mumbai have the capacity to destroy any batting line up in the IPL. These bowlers not only have the ability to provide good start to the team but also to restrict batsmen in death overs. Binding batsman in the death overs is the real test for bowlers in T20. With time and again Mumbai bowlers have proved their worth and they would be eager to do the same for team again this season. It seems that Mumbai is very unlikely to feel the absence of Lasith Malinga.  

By looking at Mumbai Indians team who knows Mumbai might get their hand on the 5th IPL trophy and become the first team to win IPL in overseas.  

 Mumbai Indians squad: Rohit Sharma (capt), Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, Digvijay Deshmukh, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare, James Pattinson 

The 13th season of Dream11 IPL will start on 19th September. Mumbai Indians is expected to play their arch rival Chennai Super King in the opening fixture of the tournament.