MI vs KXIP IPL 2020 Strengths & Weaknesses of defending champions Mumbai Indians

MI vs KXIP IPL 2020: Here we discuss the Strengths & Weaknesses of Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians, Pandya brothers and Pollard will be the plus points for them throughout the season of Dream11 IPL 2020

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Oct 01, 2020 12:45 IST
MI vs KXIP IPL 2020 Strengths & Weaknesses of defending champions Mumbai Indians
MI vs KXIP IPL 2020 - Strengths & Weaknesses of MI

MI vs KXIP IPL 2020 Strengths & Weaknesses of MI: ''Hitman'' Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians are one of the hot favourite team for this season of Dream11 IPL 2020 and it would not be a surprise if they add the 5th title to their name. MI will take on KL Rahul and Chris Gayle starter Kings XI Punjab in their next fixture today at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The match will be started at 6 PM Local Time and 7:30 acc to the IST. Here we discuss their strengths & weaknesses in the current season of the world's biggest fantasy cricket league i.e. IPL 2020, Pandya brothers and Pollard will be the plus points for them throughout the season of Dream11 IPL 2020.

Read Also - IPL 2020 MI vs KXIP: KL Rahul's Kings XI Punjab Strengths and Weaknesses

Take a look at the strengths and weaknesses of Rohit Sharma's MI:

Strengths of Mumbai Indians:

  • A Well-balanced batting lineup:
De Kock & Suryakumar for MI
De Kock & Suryakumar for MI

Four-time IPL winners and the current defending champions Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians had a solid top order in the form of Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav. They all performing well but quite not enough as the side loses their two matches out of the three games played so far. ''Hitman'' Rohit Sharma along with African opener Quinton de Kock definitely be a triumph card for them at the top order. But they don't give an ideal start to them yet. They both are the natural strikers of the ball and they had a lot of runs under their names. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, the hero of the last match for MI with a sensational and blistering inning of 99 (58) also get some scores for the side. West Indies Kieron Pollard doing a fine partnership with Ishan Kishan and they nearly took MI to the home in the last match but unfortunately lost to RCB in the super over. So, let's see what can they deliver for their side in the biggest fantasy cricket league i.e. Dream11 IPL 2020.

  • Strong middle-order: 
Hardik & Pollard in action
Hardik & Pollard in action

With Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard, MI have the most dominating all-rounders in their squad this season. Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard both are the complete packages for them in the past. They can demolish any bowling attack by their power-hitting abilities. Both of them also handy with the bowl in this short format. In recent years, they performed well for both Mumbai Indians as well as for their National team. Last season, Hardik Pandya scored 400 runs and picked up 14 wickets, thereby helping Mumbai Indians in clinching the trophy for the record 4th time. Mumbai Indians also have Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Sherfane Rutherford in their squad as they could deliver their goods when MI needs their services.


Weak spin-attack:

As we all know that Rohit Sharma and Co have a brilliant pace unit but the problem will be in their spin department. Their spin attack mostly depends on young leg-spinner Rahul Chahar and Krunal Pandya. But other than the duo, they really don't have a back-up and an off-day for them can hurt them. The pitches in UAE are traditionally slow and tricky, so MI just may feel for their inexperienced spin-attack. Jayant Yadav is also there but the off-spinner hasn't played as many matches in this short format, So, MI must be thinking of resolving this big hole in their lineup.

MI vs KXIP Probable Playing XI:

Mumbai Indians - Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, Jaspreet Bumrah, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult

Kings XI Punjab - KL Rahul (C), Mayank Agarwal, Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Nicholas Pooran, Krishnappa Gowtham, James Neesham, Ravi Bishnoi, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman