By Bhawna Rawat, Updated : Aug 22, 2020 18:05 IST
List of top 10 highest wicket takers in IPL History

Indian Premier League (IPL) was commenced from 2008, since then many history and records have been made. With presence of tremendous players in the league from around the globe. The bowlers in IPL have shown some great spells by taking highest wickets.  

Top 10 Players with most number of wickets in Indian Premier League  

      1. Player: Lasith Malinga 

  • Matches Played: 122 

  • Overs: 47.1 

  • Wickets: 170 

malinga highest wicket taker ipl
Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga a Sri Lankan right-arm fast bowler holds the record of being number one in IPL’s highest wicket taker of 170 wickets, with best performance of 5 wickets in a match & 4 wickets in 6 matches. 

       2. Player: Amit Mishra 

  • Matches Played: 147 

  • Overs: 516.5 

  • Wickets: 157 

amit mishra highest wicket taker ipl
Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra an attacking right-arm-leg break bowler holds the record of taking 157 wickets in IPL, with his best performance of taking 4 wickets three times & five wickets one time in Indian Premier League. 

      3. Player: Harbhajan Singh 

  • Matches Played: 167 

  • Overs: 562.2 

  • Wickets: 150 

harbhajan highest wicket taker ipl
Harbhajan Singh 

Harbhajan Singh who have been part of KXIP, Mumbai Indians & now Chennai Super Kings the spin bowler & also a batsman has managed to capture 150 wickets in IPL.  

     4. Player: Piyush Chawla 

  • Matches Played: 157 

  • Overs: 520.4 

  • Wickets: 150 

piyush chawla highest wicket taker ipl
Piyush Chawla

A leg-spinning all-rounder Piyush Chawla has taken 150 wickets in his IPL career, with his best performance of taking 4 wickets twice in Indian Premier League.  

      5. Player: Dwayne Bravo 

  • Matches Played: 134 

  • Overs: 431 

  • Wickets: 147 

bravo highest wicket taker ipl
Dwayne Bravo

West Indies Dwayne Bravo who is always seen as a charm of IPL, has taken 147 wickets also has managed to take 4 wickets twice in Indian Premier League. 

      6. Player: Bhuvneshwar Kumar  

  • Matches Played: 117 

  • Overs: 435.2 

  • Wickets: 133 

bhuvi highest wicket taker ipl
Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar who has managed to attain purple cap twice in IPL as he took highest wickets in 2016 & 2017 IPL. He has taken 133 wickets with taking      4 wickets twice & 5 wickets once against KXIP. 

      7. Player: R. Ashwin 

  • Matches Played: 139 

  • Overs: 487.2 

  • Wickets: 125 

ashwin highest wicket taker ipl
Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Aswin an all-rounder who has played for Chennai Super Kings, KXIP, & now will be playing for Delhi Capitals. Aswin has taken 125 wickets in IPL with his best performance of taking 4 wickets once.  

      8. Player: Sunil Narine 

  • Matches Played: 110 

  • Overs: 426.2 

  • Wickets: 122 

narine highest wicket taker ipl
Sunil Narine

An aggressive left-hand batsman & off-spinner Narine also hold the record of being number three at hitting fastest fifty in IPL. The spinner has managed to grab his position in the list of highest wicket taker by taking 122 wickets in IPL, with his best performance of taking 4 wickets six times & 5 wickets once. 

      9. Player: Umesh Yadav 

  • Matches Played: 119 

  • Overs: 413.2 

  • Wickets: 119 

umesh highest wicket taker ipl
Umesh Yadav

A right-arm fast bowler Umesh Yadav has taken 119 wickets & co-incidentally has also played 119 matches in IPL, with his best performance of taking 4 wickets twice. 

      10. Player: Ravindra Jadeja 

  • Matches Played: 170 

  • Overs: 415.5 

  • Wickets: 108 

jadeja highest wicket taker ipl
Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja is an all-rounder, he comes tenth in the list of top 10 highest wicket taker in IPL, with 108 wickets, he has shown his batting & bowling talent in IPL as well as in international cricket, he took 4 wickets thrice & 5 wickets once in IPL. 

The 13th edition Dream11 IPL 2020 will be played from 19 September to 10 November in three venues of UAE, i.e. Abu Dhabi, Dubai & Sharjah. 

READ ALSO: Dream11 IPL 2020 BCCI Protocols Updates