KXIP turned Punjab Kings posts their last Tweet ahead of IPL 2021 auctions

IPL 2021 Auction: The much-awaited IPL auction will decide the fate of 292 players (164 Indian, 125 overseas, and 3 associates) going under the hammer as all eight teams look to tweak their bolster squads.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Feb 17, 2021 18:47 IST
KXIP turned Punjab Kings posts their last Tweet ahead of IPL 2021 auctions
'THIS IS OUR LAST TWEET, says KXIP on social media. (Image Source: KXIP Twitter)

Indian Premier League IPL 2021: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Shami starrer Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has posted their last tweet from the social media account on Twitter, hinting at a change in the franchise's name ahead of the IPL season as reported in the media earlier. Kings XI Punjab posted a tweet on Wednesday indicating that it will be the last tweet from their present account. "THIS IS OUR LAST TWEET! Thank you @Twitter and Sadde fans!" tweeted KXIP.

Kings XI Punjab will reportedly change their name to Punjab Kings ahead of the upcoming IPL 2021 auctions, as revealed by PTI on Monday. They are one of the three franchises along with Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to have not won a single IPL title since the league's initiation in 2008 despite having played in all 13 editions.

"The team was planning to change the name for a long time and thought it should be done before this IPL. So it is not a sudden decision," a Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) source told PTI on Monday. 

The player auction for IPL 2021 will be held in Chennai on Thursday (February 18) and KXIP head into the auction with the highest purse remaining of Rs. 53.2 crores.

Also read: These franchises are eyeing for KXIP released Maxwell at the IPL 2021 Auction

KL Rahul-led Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) have had the best run came in the IPL in 2014 when they finished runners-up to Kolkata Knight Riders. In IPL 2020, despite starting well and a late reprisal after a slump they finished sixth with 12 points from 14 matches. 

KXIP Released Players: Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mujeeb UR Rahman, Jimmy Neesham, Hardus Viljoen, and Karun Nair

KXIP Retained Players: KL Rahul (Captain), Gayle, Pooran, Shami, Jordan, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Ravi Bishnoi, Prabhsimran, Deepak Hooda, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh,  M Ashwin Arshdeep, Porel, Harpreet Brar