By Bhawna Rawat, Updated : Aug 17, 2020 18:08 IST
IPL History: Top 5 Longest sixes in Indian Premier League!

Indian Premier League (IPL) was commenced from 2008, since then many history and records have been written. With presence of great players in the league from around the globe. IPL often see gigantic sixes being hit on the small Indian grounds.  

Here are top 5 longest six hits in the history of IPL.   

         1. Albie Morkel (125 m) 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)’s all-rounder holds the record for the longest six in the history of IPL. Albie had hit the longest six of 125m against Deccan Chargers Hyderabad’s Pragyan Ojha in IPL 2008. Albie Morkel scored 29* (19). 

          2. Praveen Kumar (124m)  

Former Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) pacer Praveen Kumar holds the record of 2nd highest six of 124m in IPL, hitting off Mumbai Indian’s fast bowler Lasith Malinga.  

          3. Adam Gilchrist (122m) 

Former Australia wicketkeeper-batsman & Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist has hit 3rd longest six in the IPL against RCB pacer Charl Langeveldt, hitting ninth six that night scoring 106 (55). 

         4. Robin Uthappa (120m) 

Robin Uthappa who is no.11 in most hit sixes, also features in the longest sixes in the Indian Premier League. He played for RCB & had hit an enormous six against CSK on Dwayne Bravo’s ball. 

         5. Ross Taylor (119m) 

Kiwi player Ross Taylor played for RCB in IPL, he had hit 119m long six against CSK all-rounder Jacob Oram.  

The 13th edition of IPL will start from 19 September in UAE, the first match will be played between Mumbai Indians (MI) & Chennai Super Kings (CSK).   

READ ALSO: 8 times test match was abandoned without a single ball being bowled!