IPL Auction 2021 Live Updates: List of sold, unsold players for all eight teams

Indian Premier League IPL 2021 Auction: The IPL 2021 Auction will begin at the ITC Grand Chola Hotel in Chennai from 3 pm (IST) onwards and we will have you covered throughout the day. Stay tuned for more details.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Feb 18, 2021 18:03 IST
IPL Auction 2021 Live Updates: List of sold, unsold players for all eight teams
IPL 2021 Player Auction Live: The auction is being held in Chennai. (Photo: Getty Images)

Indian Premier League IPL 2021 Auction: A total of 292 players have been enlisted for the shortened auctions - 164 of them Indian and 125 overseas. There will also be three associate players in the auction. The IPL 2021 Auction will begin at the ITC Grand Chola Hotel in Chennai from 3 pm (IST) onwards and we will have you covered throughout the day, stay tuned for further updates.

With 61 slots across eight franchises up for grabs, a total of 1114 cricketers had registered for the IPL 2021 auction and the list was pruned to 292 last week.

Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has the maximum, 11 slots to fill with a purse of Rs 35.4 crore while Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) has only three slots available with Rs 10.75 crore in their purse. While the highest purse available is with Punjab Kings which has Rs 53.20 crore available for spending on nine vacancies.

List of Sold Players:


Former Australian captain Steve Smith became the first cricketer to be sold at the mini-auction to the Delhi Capitals for Rs 2.2 crore. His base price was set at Rs 2 crore.


Adam Milne is the first pacer to go for bidding. MI and RR look to swoop in on him, his price goes rocketing too, from what was just 50 lakh. And it is MI who wins this battle and they buy Milne for 3.2 crores. The Big Bash League (BBL 10) highest wicket-taker Jhye Richardson sold to Punjab Kings for INR 14 crores.

Another Australian pacer Riley Meredith finds takers in plenty. Punjab and DC go in hard at having him. Punjab in the lead at 7.5 cr. Some more fights from Delhi Capitals but it's Punjab Kings who hold on and buy Meredith for Rs 8 crores.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) makes an opening bid for Karnataka's all-rounder Krishnappa Gowtham. The base price was 20 lakh, but SRH and KKR have a bidding war. But CSK swoops in late and gets their man for Rs. 9.25 crore.


South Arica's all-rounder Chris Morris becomes the most expensive buy ever in IPL history, Rajasthan Royals (RR) has picked up him for INR 16.35 crores, however, his base price was just 75 lakhs. India's Yuvraj Singh held the record of being the most expensive player in the tournament, having sold in Rs. 16 crores in 2015.

The biggest surprise has been in the case of KXIP released Glenn Maxwell, who has had a horror season in 2020 for KXIP, where he didn't even hit a six. Finally, RCB won the race and bought Maxwell for a mammoth INR 14.25 crores. His base price was INR 2 crore though.

Now, the auction is moving to a new set, Uncapped players. Sachin Baby sold to RCB at a base price of Rs 20 lakh. Himanshu Rana, C Hari Nishanth, and Rahul Gaulat go unsold. RCB bids for Rajat Patidar and he is sold for Rs. 20 lakh. 

Shahrukh Khan goes to newly-made Punjab Kings at Rs. 5.25 Crore. Saurashtra left-arm seamer Chetan Sakariya starts a bidding war between RCB and RR, sold to RR for 1.2 crores.

List of Unsold Players:


Players Base Price
Karun Nair 50 L
Alex Hales 1.50 CR
Jason Roy 2 CR
Evin Lewis 1 CR
Aaron Finch 1 CR
Hanuma Vihari 1 CR
Himanshu Rana 20 L
C. Hari Nishaanth 20 L
Rahul Gahlaut 20 L
Himmat Singh 20 L
Vishnu Solanki 20 L


Players Base Price
Sheldon Cottrell 1 CR
Adil Rashid 1.5 CR
Rahul Sharma 50 L
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1.5 CR
Harbhajan Singh 2 CR
Ish Sodhi 50 L
Qais Ahmad 50 L
Mujtaba Yousuf 20 L
Ankit Singh Rajpoot 30 L
Kuldeep Sen 20 L
Tushar Deshpande 20 L
Karanveer Singh 20 L
Sandeep Lamichhane 40 L
Midhun Sudhesan 20 L
Tejas Baroka 20 L


Players Base Price
Glenn Phillips 50 L
Alex Carey 1.5 CR
Sam Billings 2 CR
Kusal Perera 50 L
Kedar Devdhar 20 L
Avi Barot 20 L


Players Base Price
Kedar Jadhav 2 CR
Atit Sheth 20 L
Ayush Badoni 20 L
Venkatesh Iyer 20 L
Vivek Singh 20 L