IPL 2020: Team of the Tournament, has been ended in United Arab Emirates

IPL 2020: By following the rules of picking four overseas players, let’s see the team of the tournament which ended quite nicely with MI won their record-extended fifth IPL title. KL Rahul, ABD, Bumrah and Varun Chakravarty was few of the players, included in the seasons' best team.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Nov 12, 2020 18:53 IST
IPL 2020: Team of the Tournament, has been ended in United Arab Emirates
IPL 2020: Team of the tournament
  • KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan are the openers in the best IPL XI.

  • KKR mystery spinner Varun Chakravarty is the lone specialist spinner in the team ruled by pacers.

As the 13th edition of the IPL was won by Mumbai Indians(MI) as the side defeated Delhi Capitals in the finals at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai on Tuesday. Mumbai Indians put on a great show in the IPL 2020 final to clinch its record-extending fifth IPL title, beating DC, who were playing their first-ever final. Here we analyze the team of the tournament which held successfully in UAE.

When the tournament was started, many experts were of the opinion that spinners would rule the two-months tour. However, that did not happen as the wicket’s column was generally owned by fast bowlers. Among the top ten wicket-takers, only three spinners have made their way while the rest are seamers.

When it comes to the batting, some top names in world cricket exhibited high-quality performance. Amongst the seven Indian batsmen, three are uncapped players.

Also Read - Virender Sehwag selects his best Fantasy 11 of IPL 2020, named Virat Kohli as captain

Following the rules of picking four overseas players, let’s see the team of IPL 2020:


We are starting from the batsmen, opening with KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan - the first batsman to score back-to-back IPL centuries. Delhi Capitals' left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan finished in the second spot with 618 runs. His is just 54 runs short of his counterpart Rahul.


The Orange Cap winner and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) skipper KL Rahul, who notched up 670 runs in 14 matches with an impressive average of 55.83 and he struck the ball with 129.34. He opens with Shikhar Dhawan would be a perfect combination of left-right handed batsmen a swell which gives the team an extra benefit and bowlers to face more difficulties.

KXIP skipper KL Rahul in action
KXIP skipper KL Rahul in action

At one down, come Mumbai Indians' most-consistent batsmen Suryakumar Yadav. Then comes, KKR talented opening batsmen Shubman Gill who scored 440 runs including three half-centuries, so has been key upfront for any fantasy team as he has mastered the art of Grilling bowlers as well.

Another key inclusion - Mr. 360 degree AB de Villiers, he is the backbone in the middle-order. Whatever his team Royal Challengers Bangalore perform, he has been the perfectionist in the line-up, so picking ABD sets up a tone for fantasy XI.

Also check: Virat Kohli led Indian Cricket Team gets ready to Fly to Australia for upcoming series


In the middle-order, DC's Marcus Stoinis and RR's Rahul Tewatia slot in as all-rounders nicely. A smooth left-right hand combination offering the bowling tweak. The two added 607 runs and 23 wickets together in teh tournament.

Ruthless Stoinis in action
Ruthless Stoinis in action


MI's red-hot pacer Jasprit Bumrah and RR's Jofra Archer are the pick of the bowlers this season, Bumrah picked up 27 wickets while Archer finished with 20 wickets and both of them bowled some serious deliveries especially at the death. Another bowler in teh lineup, the Purple Cap winner and Delhi Capitals' (DC's) ace of pace Kagiso Rabada. He finished with 30 wickets at an average of 18.26.

It means Kolkata Knight Riders' mystery bowler Varun Chakravarthy gets the spinner's slot, following his 5/20 - the tournament's best figures.

To know more, click here

Here is the Team of the Tournament (IPL 2020) as given below:

  1. KL Rahul (KXIP) - Captain*
  2. Shikhar Dhawan (DC)
  3. Suryakumar Yadav (MI)
  4. Shubman Gill (KKR)
  5. AB de Villiers (RCB)
  6. Marcus Stoinis (DC)
  7. Rahul Tewatia (RR)
  8. Kagiso Rabada (DC)
  9. Varun Chakravarthy (KKR)
  10. Jasprit Bumrah (MI)
  11. Jofra Archer (RR)