IPL 2020: Indian Premier League 2020 Orange Cap, Purple Cap and other award winners

IPL 2020 Awards: As the defending champions MI defend its IPL title after beating DC in IPL 2020 Final. There were a number of outstanding performance through the tournament. Check out the full list of award winners like Most Valuable Player, Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Emerging Player, Super Striker etc. as given below.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Nov 11, 2020 11:25 IST
IPL 2020: Indian Premier League 2020 Orange Cap, Purple Cap and other award winners
IPL 2020: Orange, Purple Cap and other award winners

IPL 2020 Awards: Orange, Purple Cap winners 

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) Final in Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai on Tuesday to extend its record tally as the most successful team in the T20 tournament. BCCI President Saurav Ganguly hands over the IPL trophy to MI captain Rohit Sharma, who carries it to his team. Here is the full list of IPL awards like the Most Valuable Player, Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Emerging Player, Super Striker etc. of the season.

Rohit Sharma said after winning 5th IPL title (Receives a cheque of INR 20,00,00,000) said - ''I'm quite happy with how things went the whole season. We said at the start that we need the winning habit. We couldn't have asked for anything more, right on the money from ball 1 and we never looked back. I think a lot of credit goes to the people who worked behind the scenes - often they go unnoticed''.

This year’s IPL played in the United Arab Emirates(UAE), was arguably the most competitive season in the tournament’s 13-year history. But that’s with a caveat. It applies only to the race for the top four. The playoff spots weren’t complete till the last match of the league stage as the eight teams fought hard right till the end. 

Mumbai Indians(MI) were a class apart through the season. They finished the league stage in the pole position and then continued their fine form in the playoffs as well.

Also Read: Mumbai Indians win IPL 2020, how much amount Rohit Sharma and Co to take home

Take a look at all the IPL 2020 awards after MI beat DC in Finals:

Orange Cap - KL Rahul(KXIP)

(Most runs: 670, Avg: 55.83, SR 129.34)

KXIP skipper KL Rahul bagged the Orange Cap early on and just didn’t let it go till the end of the season. The KXIP skipper finished with 670 runs from 14 matches, with a strike-rate of 129.34 and an average of 55.83. 

Purple Cap - Kagiso Rabada(DC)

(Most wickets: 30, ER: 8.34, Avg: 18.26)

One of the big reasons why Delhi Capitals made their way to the final was the consistency of Kagiso Rabada. The South African right-arm pacer finished as the highest wicket-taker this season with 30 wickets in 17 matches.

Emerging Player - Devdutt Padikkal(RCB)

(473 runs, 5 fifties, SR: 124.8) 

RCB opener Devdutt Padikkal impressed everyone with his classy batting at the top of the order, playing his very first IPL season. The 20-year left-hander finished as the eighth-highest run-scorer in the season, with 473 runs from 15 matches, at a strike-rate of 124.80 and an average of 31.53.

Fairplay Award: Mumbai Indians(MI) 

Not only didn’t Mumbai Indians win the title, but they were also even awarded the Fairplay award (for playing the game in the right spirit). MI skipper Rohit Sharma collects the award.

Most Valuable Player - Jofra Archer(RR)

(20 wickets, 175 dots, 5 catches, 10 sixes)

If there’s one player who deserved this award, it’s Jofra Archer. Rajasthan Royals finished last in the league stage but that can take nothing away from the England pacer’s exceptional performance through the season.

"Game-changer" Award - KL Rahul(KXIP)

Kings XI Punjab may have missed a playoffs spot but they can be proud of their skipper’s performance through the season. KL Rahul was immense for KXIP at the top of the order for a third season running. MI all-rounder Hardik Pandya receives the award on KL's behalf.

Power player of the season: Trent Boult(MI)

The player with the biggest impact in the powerplay period right through the season was Trent Boult. The left-arm pacer picked up 25 wickets overall in 15 matches and 16 of those came in the first six. Even in the final, he picked the important wickets of Stoinis and Rahane to put MI on front.

Most Sixes Award: Ishan Kishan 

MI young emerging uncapped batsmen Ishan Kishan who got that award. The left-hander he's clubbed 30 of them across the boundary for Mumbai Indians and played an important role for them in the middle-order.

Kieron Pollard(MI) is the Super-striker of the season, with the highest strike-rate of 191.42 this season. Another award into the Mumbai Indians kitty. Pollard scored 268 runs in 16 matches at an average of 53.60.