IPL 2020 MI VS CSK: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings El Classico of Indian Premier League, know why

The biggest rivalry starts today with Mahendra Singh Dhoni's CSK and Rohit Sharma's MI, Defending champions Mumbai Indians are the hot favourites in the opening encounter

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Sep 19, 2020 18:11 IST
IPL 2020 MI VS CSK: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings El Classico of Indian Premier League, know why
Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings IPL 2020

MI vs CSK IPL 2020 1st match: 'Hitman' Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians will face off Chennai Super Kings-led Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the opening encounter of the IPL 2020 on 19th of September, 2020. Defending champions Mumbai Indians will be looking to get off to winning start in the opening encounter against their old arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings in Dream11 IPL 2020 on September 19, 2020 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi(UAE) but it was not an easy task against the team who have qualified for the playoffs in every edition of the tournament they have played so far. Let's see which of the teams had started in winning cause in the opener of Dream11 IPL 2020 as the Fantasy Cricket League starts today in UAE. 

  • Most Consistent Teams in IPL history:

Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians and Mahendra Sigh Dhoni' Chennai Super Kings will face head-to-head for 28 times in total. MI have won 17 games while CSK have won 11 times. They played each other on four previous occasions in 2010, 2013, 2015 and 2019 in an IPL Final. The two teams have played each other in four finals where Mumbai Indians won the three titles and Chennai Super Kings have won once in IPL history. CSK holds the record for the most IPL final appearances, having played the final seven times. On the other hand, MI reached four times in an IPL final and lifts the trophy three times. Thus, Mumbai Indians''s success rate in IPL finals is much better in comparison with Chennai Super Kings.

  • Rohit Sharma vs Mahender Singh Dhoni's rivalry:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the most successful captain in IPL history with a winning of over 100 matches for Chennai Super Kings. He is doing an excellent job for CSK in the previous editions of IPL. 'Captain Cool' is a consistent performer for Indian Cricket Team as well as in IPL history. Under his captaincy, Chennai Super Kings won the titles in 2010, 2011, 2018. After the suspension of CSK for two years, he was bought by Rising Pune Supergiants as a captain. However, his team finished in 7th place. In 2017, his team reached the final, where they lost to Mubai Indians. In the very next year, CSK returned to the IPL, and Dhoni was again selected to lead the franchise. Dhoni scored 455 runs in the tournament and led his side to their third IPL title.

Mahender Singh Dhoni also holds the records with the most wins by an Indian captain in ODIs and T20Is, and most back-to-back wins by an Indian captain in ODIs. Dhoni announced his retirement from international cricket on 15 August 2020 on the day of India's 74th independence Day with other CSK partner Suresh Raina.

On the other hand, Rohit Sharma is considered an aggressive batsman with style and elegance. He is usually an opening batsman in limited-overs cricket, but has played most of his Test cricket as a middle-order batsman. His past records for Mumbai Indians would be prolific. Mumbai Indians, who have won the tournament four times under his leadership. He is currently (July 2019) one of ten players who have scored 4,000 career runs in the competition. Sharma has 4,898 with one century and is the third highest run scorer after Indian cricket team skipper Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina. So, we can say that, Rohit Sharma surely will be the favourite among all players in this upcoming edition of IPL 2020. In last season, he scored a total of 405 runs in 15 matches in the last season. He will be taken final recall before this upcoming edition of IPL 2020.

MI VS CSK IPL 2020 1st match key players:

Mumbai Indians- Quinton De kock, Rohit Sharma(C), Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni(C), Faf Du Plessis, Shane Watson, Ravindra Jadega and Deepak Chahar

Chennai Super Kings Full squad for IPL 2020:

MS Dhoni (Captain) Narayan Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, M Vijay, Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson and Sai Kishore  

Mumbai Indians Full squad for IPL 2020:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan, Prince Balwant Rai Singh, Digvijay Deshmukh, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock and aditya tare