IPL 2020 KKR: Dinesh Karthik steps down as KKR Captain, Eoin Morgan takes the charge

KKR IPL 2020: Dinesh Karthik has decided to leave the captain responsibility of Kolkata Knight Riders side. England international Eoin Morgan will be the captain in today's match against Mumbai Indians.

By Puneet Hooda, Updated : Oct 16, 2020 14:43 IST
IPL 2020 KKR: Dinesh Karthik steps down as KKR Captain, Eoin Morgan takes the charge
Eoin Morgan KKR new Captain

IPL 2020: KKR batsman Dinesh Karthik has stepped down for the Kolkata Knight Riders captaincy role. England ODI captain's Eoin Morgan is now the captain of the Kolkata Knight Riders for the remaining part of the season. Seven leagues matches are yet to be played. 

After seven matches in IPL 2020, Dinesh Karthik has taken the decision to focus more on his batting and for this, he has given captain's role to Eoin Morgan. Karthik has failed to perform in the first half of the season. He managed to score only 108 runs in the first seven matches for the franchise. 

Eoin Morgan is one of the senior players in the team. He is also the captain of England One day international team. Morgan knows how to handle the team and under his captaincy, England National Team won the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup. Kolkata Knight Riders bought him at 2020 IPL auction for 5.25 crore.

Dinesh had a mixed record as KKR captain. Prior to 2018 season, KKR named Karthik as captain. He guided the team to playoffs in 2018 and fifth-place finish in the 2019 season. Under his leadership, Kolkata Knight Riders played 37 matches. Out 37 matches they won 19 and lost 18 matches. 

Also Read- MI vs KKR Dream11 Prediction

Kolkata Knight Riders are currently at fourth position in the Points tally. They have won four matches and lost three matches this season. They are one of the strongest contenders to qualify for the playoffs 2020. 

Dinesh Karthik will now solely focus on batting and wicketkeeping. Eoin Morgan will play his first match as Kolkata Knight Riders captain today against Mumbai Indians. The match will be played at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The encounter will start at 7:30 PM Indian Standard Time and 6:00 PM Local Time. The live streaming of the game would be available on Dinsey+Hotstar.