IPL 2020 Final: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Key battles to keep an eye on tonight

IPL 2020 Final MI vs DC: Mumbai Indians will aim for its fifth title, while the Capitals eyeing for its maiden IPL trophy. Here we take a look at some key player battles that could determine the IPL 2020 final tonight in Dubai.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Nov 10, 2020 16:41 IST
IPL 2020 Final: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Key battles to keep an eye on tonight
IPL 2020 Final: MI vs DC Key battles

MI vs DC Final 2020: Delhi Capitals will set their sights on a dream that has been run away) from the last 12 years. Shreyas Iyer-led DC face Rohit Sharma's all-mighty Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final of IPL 2020 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium as one of the most competitive and thrilling seasons of the T20 league comes to a close. Mumbai Indians prevailed in its three previous meetings against DC this season, Mumbai will aim for its fifth title, while Delhi eyeing for its maiden IPL trophy.

Mumbai Indians have a dream run and the Mumbai side dominated the tournament. For MI, the likes of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan have impressed in the batting department, Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult have led the bowling attack, with Rahul Chahar also being a revelation.

On the other hand, DC started the tournament strongly, with five wins out of the first seven games, but struggled in the second half, with four back to back losses. But Shreyas Iyer and Co came strongly against Virat's RCB in their final league match, finished the second place.

Apart from Shikhar Dhawan, their top-order has been trembling down, and that remains a concern ahead of tonight big IPL Final. However, it was in their Qualifier 2 against SRH that Marcus Stoinis opened the batting, and set things right with Shikhar Dhawan to see off the 2016 champions.

Also Read: MI vs DC Playing 11: Trent Boult all set to fire up against Delhi Capitals

Here, we take a look at some key player battles that could determine the final:

Shikhar Dhawan vs Jaspreet Bumrah

Dhawan vs Bumrah
Dhawan vs Bumrah

Delhi Capitals opener Shikhar Dhawan has been the most consistent batsman for DC, with four fifties under his name. Dhawan was the team's leading run-score with 603 runs and most probable contender of Orange Cap as he is only 67 runs behind KXIP's KL Rahul with one game remains. This was the first time ever in his IPL career that he has gone past 600 runs in a single season, and he will pose a threat to the Mumbai bowlers.

Mumbai Indians pacer Jaspreet Bumrah has almost been flawless in the powerplay overs, and he will face a tougher challenge in the form of Shikhar Dhawan, who enters the final on the back of a well-balanced knock of 78 against SRH.

Marcus Stoinis vs Jaspreet Bumrah

Stoinis vs Boult
Stoinis vs Boult

The Aussie all-rounder and DC's key men Marcus Stoinis has been a consistent performer for his team. Stoinis has lived up to the expectations at Delhi Capitals (DC). He has done almost everything for his team up till now. Not only he has won matches single-handedly with both the bat and ball in pressure situations but he has been a live-wire in the fielding as well. MI pacer Trent Boult, who has been in tremendous form so far could hold of Stoinis with his effective bowling and the Mumbai side would be hoping for the same resultant.

Also read - IPL 2020 Final: Both Mumbai & Delhi cleared its all hurdle

DC all-rounder Stoinis opens with Shikhar Dhawan in the last knockout game against Sunrisers Hyderabad and both set a tone for Delhi. Stoinis smashed a quickfire 27-ball 38 and also picks up three crucial wickets, makes a clear statement to his side.

Suryakumar Yadav vs Kagiso Rabada

If there is someone who can single-handedly threaten Delhi Capitals, then it is none other than the consistent middle-order batsmen Suryakumar Yadav. The 30-year-old has kept reminding the Indian selectors with his match-winning performance throughout the season.

SKY has registered his best strike-rate in a single edition which is 148.23, only behind Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya when it comes to Mumbai Indians batsmen.