IND vs AUS: Rishabh Pant failed to convince Rahane for awkward DRS challenge on Aussie Skipper

IND vs AUS: Rohit Sharma had a nice chuckle as wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant failed to convince Ajinkya Rahane to go for DRS against Tim Paine on day one of the fourth Test in Brisbane.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Jan 15, 2021 17:00 IST
IND vs AUS: Rishabh Pant failed to convince Rahane for awkward DRS challenge on Aussie Skipper
Rohit Sharma laughs on Rishabh Pant awkward DRS on Tim Paine

IND vs AUS 4th Test: Team India's wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant is known for his chirpiness behind the stumps and also urges for unseasonal reviews and sometimes has a tendency to get vocal. Pant was in the ears of the Australian batters and was trying to get under his skin with his antics. The hosts ended with 274/5 at Stumps on Day 1. Australian captain Tim Paine remains unbeaten after scoring 38 along with young Cameron Green who gives support from the other end.

During the opening day of India vs Australia 4th Test, an incident occurred in the final session of Day 1 when the southpaw has failed to convince the Indian captain Rahane to take an awkward DRS challenge on the Aussie skipper. However, none of the Indian fieldsmen is convinced, except the 23-year-old southpaw.

Indian team Vice-captain Rohit Sharma couldn't stop himself from having a laugh at Pant's antics behind the stumps. Debutant T Natarajan has beaten the outside edge Tim Paine's bat in the 84th over and Pant was the only one who went up for a shout for a caught behind. Labuschagne's fifth Test century and Paine and Green's unbroken 61-run stand gave Australia the psychological advantage on the first day.

Cricket Australia (CA) took to their Twitter handle to share the video of the critical moment that left the Indian slip cordon in splits. Take a look at here is the full incidence during the Australian innings.

Earlier in the day, Tim Paine has won the toss and opted to bat first at the Gabba. Depleted Indian side forced to make four changes in the final Test of the four-match series. Ashwin, Bumrah, Jadeja, and Vihari are out while Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal,  Natarajan, and Washington Sundar replaces them, Washington Sundar and Natarajan made their Test debuts.