Dream11 IPL 2020 Venues: Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah

Dream11 IPL 2020: BCCI has decided three venues- Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League.

By Puneet Hooda, Updated : Sep 11, 2020 16:25 IST
Dream11 IPL 2020 Venues: Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah
Dream11 IPL 2020 to be held in UAE at three different venues.

Dream11 IPL 2020: The 13th season of the Indian Premier League will commence on 19th September 2020. The first match will be played between Holders Mumbai Indians and last year runner's up Chennai Super Kings. This season IPL returns to UAE after six years hiatus. Due to COVID-19 surge in India, BCCI decided to shift IPL from India to UAE. Last time IPL matches were played in UAE was back in 2014. Due to general election in the country, around 16 matches were played in UAE. 


BCCI has decided three venues for the 13th season of IPL- Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. Here are all the details related to the three venues selected by BCCI. 

1) Dubai International Stadium- Dubai

Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
Dubai International Stadium, Dubai  (Image source- espncricinfo twitter handle)

It is also known as Dubai Sports City Cricket stadium. The Dubai International Stadium will host 24 matches in IPL 2020. This is the maximum number of matches hosted by a single venue among all the three venues. Dubai has the experience of hosting IPL matches. In 2014 it hosted numerous IPL matches. The stadium hosted its first international match in 2009. The 25000 capacity stadium hosted the 2018 Cricket Asia cup and 2018 Asia Cup final. Till now, 62 T20 matches have been played in Dubai International stadium. 

2) Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium- Abu Dhabi

Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi  (Image Source- T20 World Cup twitter account)

Sheikh Zayed Cricket stadium will host 20 matches in Dream11 IPL 2020. It is one of the three grounds in UAE which are specially destined for Cricket. The stadium was built in 2004. It also hosted few IPL matches back in 2014. The 20000 thousand capacity stadium hosted its first-ever international game in 2010. Since the terror attack in 2009 during Sri Lanka- Pakistan series, Pakistan Cricket team is playing all their home matches at this stadium. The opening match between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will be played here. Total 45 T20I matches have been played here. The Abu Dhabi stadium is operated by Pakistan Cricket board. 

3) Sharjah Cricket Stadium- Sharjah 

Sharjah Cricket Stadium is the oldest cricket stadium in United Arab Emirates (UAE). The stadium was constructed in 1980. With time it has been revamped numerous time as per the required advancement. The 15000 capacity stadium will host 12 IPL matches this season. In 2010 it was announced as the home stadium of Afghanisthan Cricket national team. But, in 2015 they Afghanistan shifted to Shaheed Vijay Singh Phatak Sports Complex, Greater Noida. The stadium has hosted more than 236 ODI matches until 2018. And currently holds the Guinness world of most ODI played in a venue. The blind cricket World Cup 2018 final was played here in this stadium, Where India beat Pakistan by two runs. 

The first match of the IPL 2020 will be played between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings on 19th September at Abu Dhabi.