Dream11 IPL 2020, Orange Cap: Can David Warner maintains Australia's dominance in the upcoming seasons?

Orange Cap is given to the leading run-scorer in the Indian Premier League. David Warner shows sheer dominance with three orange caps in the last five seasons.

By Puneet Hooda, Updated : Sep 10, 2020 13:59 IST
Dream11 IPL 2020, Orange Cap: Can David Warner maintains Australia's dominance in the upcoming seasons?
David Warner in action for SunRisers Hyderabad

One of the world’s most popular league Indian Premier League 13th season will start on 19th September. The 13th edition of IPL will be held in UAE this year due to Covid-19 surge in India.  BCCI has decided three venues- Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah for the tournament. The first will be played between holders Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings on 19th September at 7:30 PM IST in Abu Dhabi.  

Every year different awards are awarded to players for their outstanding performances in the season. Three major awards are- ORANGE CAP, PURPLE CAP AND PLAYER OF THE SEASON.  

Orange Cap is awarded to the player who has scored maximum runs in a single season of IPL, Whereas Purple Cap is awarded to bowler who has taken maximum wickets in a single season of IPL.   

Orange Cap was introduced in the inaugural season (2008) of IPL. Till now, 13 Orange Cap has been awarded to players.  

Here is the details of all the Orange Cap winners from IPL 2008-2019. 

Season 2008  

Winner- Shawn Marsh (KXIP) 
Nationality- Australia   
Runs- 616 
Average- 68.44 

Season 2009 

Winner- Matthew Hayden (CSK) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 572 

Season 2010 

Winner- Sachin Tendulkar (MI) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 618 
Average- 47.53 

Season 2011 

Winner- Chris Gayle (RCB) 
Nationality- West Indies   
Runs- 608 
Average- 67.55 

Season 2012 

Winner- Chris Gayle (RCB) 
Nationality- West Indies   
Runs- 733 
Average- 61.08 

Season 2013 

Winner- Michael Hussey (CSK) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 733 

Season 2014 

Winner- Robin Uthappa (KKR) 
Nationality- India  
Runs- 660 
Average- 44 

Season 2015 

Winner- David Warner (SRH) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 562 
Average- 43.23 

Season 2016 

Winner- Virat Kohli (RCB) 
Nationality- India 
Runs- 973 
Average- 81.08 

Season 2017 

Winner- David Warner (SRH) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 641 

Season 2018 

Winner- Kane Williamson (SRH) 
Nationality- New Zealand  
Runs- 735 

Season 2019 

Winner- David Warner (SRH) 
Nationality- Australia  
Runs- 692 
Average- 69.20 

The most astonishing thing about the orange cap winners is 50% of the winners are from Australia. Out of 12 season played six times Orange Cap was won by an Australian player. The Aussies have a tight hold on the orange cap. In the inaugural season Australia Shawn Marsh won it with Kings XI Punjab. Again, in the next season Australian Michael Hussey won the Orange Cap. He won once again in 2013. Post 2013, Australian domination took a hiatus. But it didn’t take long for Australians to comeback. In 2015 only David Warner won the award. David Warner has completely dominated the awards and won it thrice in last five seasons.  

By looking at the stats it looks like the Australian had/have pretty impressive IPL seasons specially in batting. The Aussies have grab hold the Orange Cap and doesn’t like to share it with anyone other than their country mate.  

In the upcoming season of IPL Australian have a pretty impressive chance of winning the Orange Cap. However, Indian batsman like- Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma etc. Will give tough competition to the Aussies. Australian David Waner, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma etc are some of the favorites to win the Orange cap in IPL 2020.  

IPL 2020 will start on 19th September as Mumbai Indians will battle out against Chennai Super Kings at 7:30 PM in Abu Dhabi.