By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Nov 03, 2020 11:22 IST
IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals creates history, the first team to finish in each of the ten positions in the Points Table
IPL 2020 DC has finished 2nd in the points table this season

IPL 2020: Shreyas Iyer led Delhi Capitals(DC) after defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by six wickets on Monday, creates history and become the first team to finish at all ten positions in the IPL Points Table. Meanwhile, MI will take on Sunrises Hyderabad in the last game ahead of the playoffs today in Sharjah at 7:30 PM IST. Today's IPL match - SRH vs MI - the contest that KKR will watch with keen interest as Kolkata desperately hope for Mumbai Indians victory to go through the IPL 2020 playoffs. If SRH wins today, they are through for the playoffs (3rd place) for the fifth successive time. 

Delhi Capitals has finished on the second spot in the table and will square off with the defending champions Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1 on Thursday 5 November 2020. With this comprehensive triumph over RCB, Delhi Capitals has the first team to finish in each of the ten positions in the points table. However, this season only 8 teams are participating in the Indian Premier League 2020 and the Capitals had finished at the second in the standings.

DC are officially through and they'll meet Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1 on this upcoming Thursday. Finishing at the second spot made sure that Delhi side gets an extra chance of making it to the IPL final 2020.

Look at here the season-wise positions of Delhi Capitals/Delhi Daredevils:

Position Year
1st 2009, 2012
2nd 2020*
3rd 2019
4th 2008
5th 2010
6th 2016, 2017
7th  2015
8th 2014, 2018
9th 2013
10th 2011

Also read: Day After Tomorrow IPL Match: Venue, Pitch Report and other details

The Capitals survived a late scare to tackle Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) in their last league game and seal a spot in the first qualifier of the playoffs with a six-wicket win in Abu Dhabi, on Monday. RCB, despite the loss, also qualified for the playoffs by virtue of a higher Net Run Rate than Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR).

Delhi Capitals led by Shreyas Iyer after opted to field first, restrict Virat's Royal Challengers to a below-par score of 152/7 in 20 overs, DC needed 134 to qualify for the playoffs, which they did in the 19th over. RCB have also qualified for the playoffs but they couldn't end their streak of losses, which has now extended up to four matches.

Delhi Capitals will have to play against the table-toppers and the current defending champions Mumbai Indians on this upcoming Thursday, November 5, 2020. With this triumph over RCB, DC creates history and the team has the first to finished in every 10 positions of IPL Points Table.