BCCI Clears 10-teams from IPL 2022, Backs Cricket's inclusion in Los Angeles Olympics

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) general body approved a 10-team IPL from the 2022 edition at its Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday. The BCCI also Backs Cricket's Inclusion In Los Angeles Olympics 2028.

By Mohit Sindhu, Updated : Dec 24, 2020 18:20 IST
BCCI Clears 10-teams from IPL 2022, Backs Cricket's inclusion in Los Angeles Olympics
BCCI 89th AGM Meeting held in Ahmedabad today

BCCI AGM Meeting: The governing body of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) has endorsed the two new teams in IPL 2022 season during its 89th Annual General Meeting during the meeting. The BCCI AGM Meeting started at 12-Noon and still in progress in Ahmedabad. IPL 2021 will be held in April month and the teams will be discussed by the executives, said Amin Pathan (Vice-President of Rajasthan Cricket Association) on BCCI AGM in Ahmedabad today.

In another major development, the BCCI backed the decision for inclusion of Cricket in the T20 format, in the Los Angeles Olympics 2028. The Indian cricket board also stood in favour of compensating men and women first-class cricketers for the curtailed domestic season.

The Indian cricket board's top official KVP Rao steps down after being asked to resign from the post of General Manager in its Annual General Meeting.

"BCCI has decided to terminate my employment on 22nd December 2020, the best day of my life as this termination will provide me ample opportunities to further my professional skills elsewhere," said General Manager KVP Rao.

The Indian Cricket Council (ICC) aims to include the T20 format in the 2028 LA Olympics. The BCCI secretary and treasurer will also speak to the government on tax exemption to host the 2021 ICC Cricket T20 World Cup and the ODI World Cup in 2023.

Also Read - BCCI AGM Meeting: Key Points, New IPL Team, T20 WC Tax Issue, Cricket in Olympics

This year, the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) was postponed from March to October due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The tournament was later organized in the United Arab Emirates, due to the fast-spreading corona cases in India. In the Finals of IPL 2020, Mumbai Indians (MI) won their record-extending fifth IPL trophy after beating Delhi Capitals (DC) in Dubai.